Skip to main content

Last verified · Published by Michigan Legal Publishing Ltd. · Browse the Nevada rules

1. Court System Overview

Nevada courts: district courts (judicial districts; general jurisdiction — felonies, gross misdemeanors, civil above justice-court limits, family divisions in the metros, probate, juvenile), justice courts (misdemeanors, preliminary hearings, civil ≤$15,000 (NRS 4.370 — verified), small claims ≤$10,000 (NRS 73.010 — verified)), municipal courts, the Nevada Court of Appeals (created by 2014 constitutional amendment, seated 2015; three judges; deflective: all appeals filed in the Supreme Court, which assigns roughly one-third to the Court of Appeals — verified from nvcourts.gov), and the Nevada Supreme Court. Rules are Supreme Court-promulgated and published by the Legislative Counsel Bureau’s law library (leg.state.nv.us/courtrules) — a comprehensive official collection.

2. The Ruleset Map

Nevada runs statewide rulesets + unusually powerful district-level rules (all in the LCB collection — verified index):

Ruleset Scope
Nevada Rules of Civil Procedure (NRCP) District court civil (2019 conformity overhaul, verified)
Justice Court Rules of Civil Procedure (JCRCP) Separate civil set for justice courts — includes the small-claims rules (JCRCP 88–100) (verified; JCRCP answer period is also 21 days)
Nevada Rules of Appellate Procedure (NRAP) Supreme Court + Court of Appeals
District Court Rules (DCR) Statewide district-court practice basics
Local rules with real weight: Eighth Judicial District Court Rules (EDCR — Las Vegas; verified) and Washoe District Court Rules (WDCR — Reno) Motion practice, business court, family divisions
Nevada Rules of Professional Conduct (RPC) Ethics (2006 recodification, verified index)
Supreme Court Rules (SCR) Attorney regulation remnant (SCR 99–120 discipline), admission, judiciary
Nevada Short Trial Rules (NSTR) Court-annexed short trial program — the trial-de-novo track after court-annexed arbitration/mediation, plus stipulated cases (eff. 2000; juries of four or six by stipulation, eight for good cause (NSTR 22); 3.5 hours per side (NSTR 21); judgment capped at $100,000 per plaintiff unless the parties stipulate otherwise (NSTR 26))
Rules Governing Alternative Dispute Resolution (arbitration rules cited “NAR”; mediation “NMR”) Mandatory, nonbinding court-annexed arbitration in judicial districts containing a county of 100,000+ (Clark/Washoe): every civil case is in unless NAR 5 exempts it (NAR 3) — automatically for listed categories (class actions, probate, domestic relations, title to real estate, declaratory or equitable relief, medical malpractice, business-court, construction-defect, product-liability cases and others, designated in the caption), or on request where the probable jury verdict would exceed $100,000 per plaintiff (NAR 5(b)(1)(C), as amended effective January 1, 2023)
Criminal procedure: statutory (NRS chs. 171–179) + Nevada Rules of Criminal Practice (NRCrP) Since March 1, 2021 Nevada has statewide Rules of Criminal Practice governing criminal actions in the district courts (uniformity rules replacing local criminal rules; not juvenile/post-conviction) — verified. The procedural code itself remains statutory (NRS Title 14)
Evidence: statutory (NRS chs. 47–56) See § 5
Probate: NRS Title 12 (chs. 132–156) + local probate rules — EDCR Part IV (Rule 4.01 et seq.: probate judge(s) appointed by the chief judge; automatic referral of probate/trust proceedings to the probate commissioner, EDCR 4.03) and WDCR 57 (57.1 et seq.: Thursday probate calendar; automatic referral to the probate commissioner, WDCR 57.3) (verified from the LCB texts) Both local parts govern proceedings under NRS Title 12 and Title 13 chs. 162–167 (trusts)
Juvenile: NRS Title 5 (chs. 62A–62I) and ch. 432B + local juvenile provisions — EDCR 1.45–1.46 (juvenile dependency/delinquency judges; juvenile hearing masters under NRS ch. 62B) and WDCR 30–31 (family-division rules WDCR 27–57, cited “WDFCR”; Title 5/432B matters may be referred automatically to masters, WDCR 31) (verified from the LCB texts) No separate statewide juvenile rules volume appears in the LCB court-rules index
  • Business court (verified): dockets inside the Eighth JD (Las Vegas) and Second JD (Reno) under their local rules — EDCR 1.61 (business matters: NRS chs. 78–92A disputes, UCC, business torts, stock/asset sales, commercial real estate, franchises; excludes PI, employment, residential landlord-tenant, etc.) and WDCR 2.1 (Washoe business court docket) — commercial cases assigned to designated business-court judges; Nevada markets this Delaware-style for its corporate registrants (rule numbers verified from the LCB texts).

3. Civil Litigation Mechanics

  • Commencement: complaint + summons; answer 21 days (state 45; waiver 60/90) (verified from NRCP 12); the 2019 NRCP overhaul (effective March 1, 2019) aligned Nevada with the restyled FRCP — but Nevada kept quirks: failure to state a claim sits at NRCP 12(b)(5), not 12(b)(6) (verified — 12(b)(6) is failure to join a Rule 19 party).
  • Mandatory court-annexed arbitration (NAR rules) for district-court civil cases in Clark/Washoe unless exempted — since January 1, 2023 the value line is a probable jury verdict over $100,000 per plaintiff (exclusive of fees, costs and interest), and that exemption is by request, filed within 21 days after the first defendant answers (NAR 5(b)(1)(C), (b)(2)); listed case types are exempt automatically if the caption designates the category (NAR 5(a)) — with the Short Trial Program (NSTR) as the trial-de-novo track, a defining feature of Nevada civil practice.
  • Justice court civil uses JCRCP (small claims at JCRCP 88–100, verified); small claims is a justice-court track begun by an affidavit of complaint on a prescribed form (JCRCP 89) with informal trials — “no formal pleading other than the claim and notice is necessary” and “formal discovery as conducted in a civil action is not allowed” (JCRCP 96, verified; counterclaims within 21 days, JCRCP 88; appeals and appeal bonds, JCRCP 98–100).
  • EDCR/WDCR matter enormously: briefing schedules, ex parte practice, and family-division procedure are local-rule-driven in the two metros (verified EDCR existence).
  • Discovery: NRCP 16.1 mandatory initial disclosures (witnesses, documents, damages computations, insurance) due at/within 14 days after the Rule 16.1(b) early case conference (verified from NRCP 16.1). The LCB text of Rule 16.1 carries only an “[Amended; effective March 1, 2019]” note and does not state the rule’s original adoption date.

4. Criminal Practice Mechanics

  • Statutory procedure (NRS Title 14): charging by information after justice-court preliminary hearing, or grand jury indictment; gross misdemeanor category between misdemeanor and felony is a Nevada distinctive. Plus: the Nevada Rules of Criminal Practice (statewide, effective March 1, 2021) now govern district-court criminal practice mechanics (case assignment, appearances, bail, pretrial motions, voir dire, continuances) — Nevada no longer lacks a statewide criminal rules volume (verified).
  • Speedy trial: NRS 178.556 — if a defendant whose trial was not postponed on their own application is not brought to trial within 60 days after arraignment, the court may dismiss — discretionary, not mandatory (verified from statute text); constitutional analysis fills the gaps.
  • Discovery: NRS 174.235–174.295 (reciprocal and request-based: 174.235 prosecution disclosures, 174.245 defense disclosures, 174.295 continuing duty/sanctions), with NRS 174.234 adding affirmative witness/expert-list duties in felony/gross-misdemeanor cases; NRS 174.233 is the alibi-notice rule.
  • Post-conviction: state habeas under NRS ch. 34 — petition due within 1 year after entry of judgment or, if appealed, 1 year after remittitur (NRS 34.726(1), verified; good-cause extension possible) — the exclusive collateral vehicle.
  • Criminal appeals: NRAP 4(b) (30 days, verified); death-penalty appeals reserved to the Supreme Court.

5. Evidence

  • Statutory: NRS chapters 47–56 (1971) — organized by chapter (hearsay ch. 51, privileges ch. 49), cited “NRS 48.035.” Concepts derive from early FRE drafts but numbering is entirely Nevada’s.
  • Experts: NRS 50.275 — a witness “qualified as an expert by special knowledge, skill, experience, training or education” may testify where specialized knowledge will assist the trier of fact (statute text verified) — applied through Hallmark v. Eldridge, 124 Nev. 492, 189 P.3d 646 (2008): three requirements (qualification, assistance to the trier of fact, limited scope) plus reliability factors (recognized field, testable/tested, peer review, general acceptance, etc.); the court stated it “has not adopted” Daubert but that Daubert and federal decisions “may provide persuasive authority” — i.e., persuasive, not controlling.

6. Appellate Mechanics

  • One door, two courts: everything is filed in the Supreme Court (notice of appeal filed with the district court clerk, NRAP 3/4 — verified); the Supreme Court assigns cases to the Court of Appeals (the deflective model is verified from nvcourts.gov) under NRAP 17 (verified from the full LCB text): Rule 17(a) lists cases the Supreme Court retains (death penalty, ballot/election, judicial discipline, attorney admission/discipline, certified questions, inter-governmental disputes, tax/water/PUC agency cases, business-court cases, termination of parental rights, juvenile certifications, conflicts among appellate decisions); Rule 17(b) lists categories presumptively assigned to the Court of Appeals (plea-based conviction appeals, non-category-A/B-felony jury-verdict appeals, most postconviction appeals, tort judgments of $1–$250,000, contract disputes under $150,000, postjudgment orders, most family-law and juvenile cases, venue, injunctions, discovery/in-limine writs, smaller trust/estate matters, foreclosure mediation); Rule 17(d) requires a routing statement in the principal brief or writ petition. Review of COA decisions is only by petition for review (NRAP 40B) — discretionary, filed within 14 days after the COA’s decision (or its decision on rehearing), with the 3-day mailing period inapplicable; no response unless the Supreme Court requests one; 10 pages/4,667 words; a grant does not vacate the COA decision unless ordered (verified).
  • Triggers (verified from NRAP 4): civil clocks run from service of written notice of entry (not entry itself) — 30 days; tolling motions restart from notice of entry of their disposition. Criminal: 30 days from entry.
  • Writ practice is the interlocutory highway: extraordinary-writ (mandamus/prohibition) petitions under NRAP 21 to the appellate courts are a routine, developed craft (Nevada’s aggressive writ jurisprudence) (NRAP’s own cross-references confirm Rule 21 as the extraordinary-writ vehicle — verified).
  • Justice/municipal appeals go to district court — criminal appeals from justice court within 10 days of judgment (NRS 189.010, verified); NRS 177.015 (“may appeal only as follows”) routes appeals from a justice-court final judgment to the district court (177.015(1)(a)) and lists no further appeal from the district court’s decision on such an appeal.

7. Rules of Professional Conduct

  • Nevada Rules of Professional Conduct (RPC) — recodified effective May 1, 2006 (replacing former SCR 150–203.5), ABA Model Rules-based numbering; cited “Nev. RPC 3.3” (official text in the LCB collection).
  • Attorney machinery (admission, discipline boards, fee disputes) stays in the SCR.

8. Attorney Discipline & Enforcement

From the State Bar (FAQ and Disciplinary Rules of Procedure):

  • Flow (SCR 99–120 + Disciplinary Rules of Procedure): complaint → Office of Bar Counsel investigation (subpoena power; no fixed 10-day initial-review deadline appears in the current DRP — prior claim removed) → screening panel → formal hearing before a 3-person panel (2 lawyers + 1 layperson) of the Northern/Southern Disciplinary Board (verified answer: 21 calendar days, DRP 12; discipline requires concurrence of 2 panel members, DRP 34(a); written decision within 30 days of the hearing, or 60 days if post-hearing briefs are allowed) → automatic de novo Nevada Supreme Court review of reprimand/suspension/disbarment (verified).
  • Sanctions: private admonition → public reprimand → suspension → disbarment (irrevocable since March 1, 2007 — verified) + fines (up to $1,000)/restitution/probation.
  • Discipline records via nvbar.org.

9. Newcomer Orientation Notes

  • Calendar from notice of entry, not entry — Nevada’s appellate and post-judgment clocks start when a party serves notice of entry; serving it yourself is how you start the opponent’s clock.
  • Learn the arbitration/short-trial gauntlet — most modest civil cases must pass through court-annexed arbitration; opting out or appealing has its own ruleset.
  • Local rules are half the law in Vegas/Reno (EDCR/WDCR) — business court, family practice, and motion mechanics live there.
  • E-filing: Eighth JD (Clark County) uses Odyssey File & Serve (“eFileNV,” Tyler; nevada.tylertech.cloud/ofsweb — verified from the court clerk’s page); appellate e-filing via the Supreme Court’s eFlex (verified from nvcourts.gov); statewide framework in the Nevada Electronic Filing and Conversion Rules (NEFCR) (in the LCB collection — verified). Washoe (Second JD) district court also uses eFlex — electronic filing is mandatory for all cases (verified from washoecourts.com).
  • Self-help: Clark County’s Civil Law Self-Help Center (civillawselfhelpcenter.org — verified) is among the nation’s best; selfhelp.nvcourts.gov statewide.
  • Out-of-state counsel: PHV under SCR 42 (verified from the State Bar): association with active Nevada counsel of record required; per-case application fee ($550 standard + $500 annual renewal); frequency scrutiny after 5 applications within 3 years (special-circumstances affidavit required).

10. Sources & Verification

Sources fetched 2026-08-28 (verification pass 2) — official unless labeled:

Sources fetched 2026-09-02 (flag-resolution pass 3):

  • Official — NRAP full text (headless fetch; complete through Rule 48): https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/NRAP.html — confirmed NRAP 17(a)/(b)/(d) retention and presumptive-assignment categories and routing statement; NRAP 40B petition for review (14-day deadline, discretionary factors, response only on request, 10-page/4,667-word limit)
  • Official — JCRCP: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/JCRCP.html — confirmed small-claims Rules 88–100: affidavit-of-complaint form (Rule 89), informal trials with no formal discovery (Rule 96), appeals/bonds (Rules 98–100)
  • Official — NRCP: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/NRCP.html — Rule 16.1 text carries only the “[Amended; effective March 1, 2019]” history note; original adoption date not stated (historical “predates federal rules” claim reworded)
  • Official — EDCR: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/EighthDCR.html — confirmed Part IV Probate (Rules 4.01–4.03: scope NRS Title 12 and Title 13 chs. 162–167; probate judge; probate commissioner) and Rules 1.45–1.46 (juvenile judges; juvenile hearing masters, NRS ch. 62B)
  • Official — WDCR: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/SecondDCR.html — confirmed Rule 27 (Rules 27–57 = family division, “WDFCR”), Rule 30(e) (juvenile delinquency/dependency case categories), Rule 31 (automatic master referral of NRS Title 5 and ch. 432B proceedings), Rule 57–57.8 (probate; probate commissioner)
  • Official — LCB court-rules index: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/ — no separate statewide probate or juvenile rules volume listed (local district rules and NEFCR are)
  • Official — NRS index: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/ — confirmed Title 5 (Juvenile Justice) = chs. 62A–62I; Title 12 (Wills and Estates) = chs. 132–156; Title 13 includes chs. 162–167
  • Official — NRS ch. 177 (headless fetch): https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-177.html — NRS 177.015 text (“may appeal only as follows”; justice-court judgments appeal to the district court; no further appeal listed from that ruling)
  • Official — Washoe Courts e-filing: https://www.washoecourts.com/EFiling — confirmed Second JD uses eFlex; e-filing mandatory for all cases
  • Labeled fallback (secondary) — CourtListener, Hallmark v. Eldridge, 124 Nev. 492, 189 P.3d 646 (2008) (headless fetch): https://www.courtlistener.com/opinion/2628343/hallmark-v-eldridge/ — confirmed NRS 50.275 three-requirement test, reliability factors, and that the court “has not adopted” Daubert but treats it as possible “persuasive authority”

Sources fetched 2026-09-24 (claim-by-claim audit):

  • Official — Rules Governing Alternative Dispute Resolution, Legislative Counsel Bureau (NAR 3, 5 as amended effective January 1, 2023 — $100,000 exemption line): https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/RGADR.html ; Nevada Short Trial Rules (NSTR 21, 22, 26 — $100,000 cap): https://www.leg.state.nv.us/CourtRules/NSTR.html
  • Official rule text as published on courtrules.net: NRCP 12(a); JCRCP 96; NRAP 4(a) — matched. Note: the site’s copy of the NSTR still shows the pre-amendment $50,000 cap, and its “Rules Governing Alternative Dispute Resolution” set holds only the mediation rules (the NAR are missing), so the arbitration and short-trial claims were checked against the LCB text instead.

Not verified (flagged): none.